Kim Stanley Robinson
Science Fiction Author,

Kim Stanley Robinson is the author of the award-winning "Mars" trilogy of novels: Red Mars (1993), Green Mars (1994), and Blue Mars (1997); the "Three Californias" trilogy, presenting three views of possible near-future worlds: The Wild Shore (1984), The Gold Coast (1988), and Pacific Edge (1990); the novels Antarctica (for which he was sent to the Antarctic by the U.S. National Science Foundation), The Years of Rice and Salt, Icehenge, The Memory of Whiteness, and A Short, Sharp Shock; and most recently, the "Science in the Capital" series, exploring the consequences of global warming: Forty Signs of Rain (2004), Fifty Degrees Below (2005), and Sixty Days and Counting (2007). The novel The Galileans is scheduled for publication in 2008.

Most of Stan's dozens of short stories are included in the collections The Martians (billed as a companion piece to the "Mars" trilogy), The Planet on the Table, Remaking History, and Vinland the Dream. His work frequently incorporates ecological and sociological themes, and Mars has been a source of lifelong fascination and years of research.

Among Stan's numerous awards are two Hugo Awards for Best Novel (Green Mars and Blue Mars), the Nebula Award for Best Novel (Red Mars), the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for Best Science Fiction Novel (Pacific Edge), and six Locus Awards.

Stan holds a BA in Literature and a Ph.D. in English from the University of California, San Diego, and an MA in English from Boston University. He is a graduate of the Clarion Science Fiction Writers' workshop. Stan and his wife, an environmental chemist, have two sons and live in Davis, California.

FiRe 2019 Speaker
Contact Kim Stanley
Contact via FacebookContact via Fire Mailroom